Skip to content

No-Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

January 27, 2011

I got this recipe from a friend the other day, and it sounded so good I had to try it immediately. I brought a batch to work and got several compliments.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup butter or margarine, melted
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 cups powdered sugar
1 cup peanut butter, crunchy or smooth
1-1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
4 tablespoons peanut butter

DIRECTIONS

In a medium mixing bowl, stir together butter or margarine, graham cracker crumbs, powdered sugar and 1 cup peanut butter until well blended. Press into the bottom of an ungreased 9 x 13″ baking pan.

In the top of a double boiler over hot (not boiling) water, melt the chocolate chips with the 4 tablespoons peanut butter, stirring occasionally until smooth. (I just used the microwave to heat the chips 30 seconds at a time, stirring in between and then adding the peanut butter.) Spread on top of the mixture in the baking pan.

Refrigerate for about 1 hour before cutting into bars. Or, if you’re like me, for 30 minutes in the freezer.

From → recipes

7 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Yummm! I printed this page. Thanks!
    – Mom

  2. With me, I doubt they would even make it INTO the freezer. LOL.

  3. Anonymous permalink

    Lol at Brenda! Yeah, they look pretty darn tasty! Might have to make them myself sometime…but only if I can take them somewhere and not eat a whole pan myself!

    -Dan

  4. These do look really yummy. I'll bet the kids would like them. Someday when I get more ambitious in the kitchen, I'll surprise everyone with these!

  5. Mom, let me know how they turn out!

    Brenda – Haha–I may have taken it out of the freezer a few times to check if it was set yet. πŸ™‚

    Dan – You can make a quarter batch, like I did the first time. It's not all that much. Or an 1/8 batch? πŸ™‚

    R – Yeah they're very easy. They seriously take like 10 minutes to prepare, and then they just sit in the freezer!

  6. Lori permalink

    Ok, I just made these. They are cooling in the fridge as we speak. πŸ™‚

  7. Another friend made these this weekend too! πŸ™‚ Let me know how you like them.

Leave a Reply

