Skip to content

Ducks, flowers, tree house

June 20, 2010

The heater is on, as are my sweat pants. Ahhh.. Oregon summer. Nothing like having hot chocolate and staying indoors on a late-June day, you know? And of course I’m not at all bitter. Let me just put another log on the fire so I can show you a little of my weekend.


I had spotted these wood ducklings the day before, but only managed a fuzzy photo as a record. I was so glad they came back and swam around where I could see them. Up until now, I don’t think I’ve ever seen duck babies other than mallards. The weird thing about wood ducks is that they are so skittish (even carefully opening my door created a tiny noise that sent the mom and babies speeding into the water and swimming quickly away–I waited awhile and they came back), but the mom seems to let her babies swim and walk pretty far from her. I don’t get it.



The mom has a berry in her mouth.


Notice (because it’s cute) the little berry now in the baby’s mouth.

After duck watching, I gathered up my things for a quick trip I made to the Seattle area for my friend’s graduation (master’s in accounting–I’m very proud!). During my stay, we took a walk in Redmond and I took a few photos…


I wouldn’t say I love foxgloves, but I can’t resist taking pictures if I see them. They make me happy, and they have a ridiculous name.


The funnest sighting was this awesome tree house in someone’s yard. I don’t know if there’s a story behind it, but I’m curious.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got today.

From → animals, nature

3 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    Wood Ducklings are adorabs! And “foxgloves” is a silly name … though it makes me giggle every time I think about foxes placing their little paws inside each bloom. Tehehehe. That treehouse is ridiculously cool. -R

  2. Awesome blog! Your sense of humor is so cute!

    Love the berry photos!

    And I want that tree house! :o) Find out the story behind it!

  3. I know, like foxes need mittens! Please!

    🙂 Thanks, Laura.

Leave a Reply

