Skip to content

Niece Portraits

June 11, 2010

I’ll begin my photo recap of weekend events with the portrait session I did with my beautiful niece. This is my oldest niece (at 15), and she’s a very good photography subject. I find that the fewer instructions I give her, the better her poses. She’s a natural, and was patient with her mom and me while we constantly asked her to smile for the camera throughout the weekend. First, I thought it would be fun to start with two older photos. I took these four years ago when I was barely starting to practice portraits.

Aww! There she is–all 11 and stuff. I fixed her hair kind of poofy there, but I still like it. Yeah, I have this little-known hobby of hairstyling, and I secretly would like to do wedding hair. Maybe in my next life. (Maybe I’ll start fixing my own hair in my next life, too.)


Fast forward to this past weekend. I fixed her hair again but it was sort of a rush job, and then the weather was all humid and it basically went back to her natural curls in minutes. But it still looked good–she has great hair.

I’m talking about hair a lot.

 


And we’ll finish with my favorites. Beauty!

I guess I didn’t take any horizontal photos that I kept. I need to work on that.

Okay, well I’d better get back to more important matters. The Wii isn’t going to play itself!

From → portraits

6 Comments
  1. Well done! 🙂 She is pretty.

    You can fix my hair for my wedding! 😉

    -Ruth M

  2. Anonymous permalink

    All of these are beautiful. You do such nice work. 🙂 -R

  3. Thanks!

    Ruth, I wish I could!

  4. Very nice! My favorites are #4 and #11.

  5. Fayelle permalink

    She is SUCH a beauty!!

  6. Wow – I really must be better at keeping up. I miss you and your witicisms…and seeing all your cool photos, too! Man, S.C. looks so lovely – kids grow up too darn fast. I'm glad they were out to visit you. Sorry about your neck – ouch!! And I.B. – what a little cutie! Hard to believe he's running around like a madman nowadays.

Leave a Reply

